稅務&法律考量

乘坐遊艇抵達紐西蘭

紐西蘭入境要求

抵達紐西蘭的所有遊艇和小艇都必須遵守紐西蘭海關局和農林部規定的入境要求。

您需要儘快熟悉關於攜帶某些食品、手工藝品和寵物進入紐西蘭的入境要求和限制。

仔細考慮您在紐西蘭的移民身份。如果申請參加免簽證計劃,您是具備紐西蘭旅遊簽證還是正在申請紐西蘭居留簽證?

關稅優惠

如果您打算在紐西蘭永久居住,那麼您的遊艇和其他入境物品可以在關稅和商品及服務稅上享受一些優惠,但是船艇的大小會受到限制。獲得特許入境資格需要滿足幾個條件,包括:您本人已經抵達紐西蘭、您已經獲得在紐西蘭永久居住的批准、在出發前往紐西蘭之前您擁有和使用船艇的時間已滿一年。

全球收入課稅

在紐西蘭,居民在全球各地的收入都需要繳稅,而非居民只有在紐西蘭的收入需要繳稅。如果您在紐西蘭擁有一處永久住所或者在連續12個月裡在紐西蘭的居住總時間超過183天,則須繳納居住稅。

請務必瞭解清楚,紐西蘭稅法的哪些規定適用於您。

非居民船員

遊客性質的非居民遊艇船員取得的收入可以享受一些稅收優惠,使得外國遊艇上的船員能在遊艇停靠紐西蘭期間通過提供表演服務來獲取免稅收入。本項優惠不適用居住183天的規定,但是船員在連續2年裡在紐西蘭的居住總時間不能超過365天。

如果您是私人遊艇上的一名非居民船員,請務必瞭解清楚在紐西蘭長久停留可能帶來哪些稅務影響。

雙重課稅協定網絡

紐西蘭與其他國家之間已經建立起一個全面的雙重課稅協定網絡。兩個國家之間的移民常常被視為兩個或兩個以上國家的納稅居民,雙重課稅協定的實施就是爲了確保您的收入無需重複繳稅。

已經刻意消除任何國家納稅居民身份的船主都需要加倍謹慎,因為這種情況不能享受雙重課稅協定的保護。請務必瞭解清楚紐西蘭稅法對您的全球收入和投資有何影響。

新移民的四年免稅期

遷入紐西蘭的新移民以及在國外居住10年或更長時間後重返祖國的紐西蘭人可以享受一段免繳居民稅過渡期,也就是說,在您成為紐西蘭居民後的頭四年,您作為新移民無須為外國來源收入繳稅。

爲了充分利用居民稅免稅過渡期,請注意確保您成為紐西蘭居民的起始日期不會無意中變得比預期更早。如果您選擇住在船上而不是住在陸地上,那麼很可能需要考慮一些特殊問題,因為不斷地駕船進出紐西蘭會讓事情變的複雜。

紐西蘭稅項一覽

所得稅和資本利得稅

紐西蘭納稅居民通常需要為其全球收入繳納所得稅。所得稅的課徵是遞進形式的,從10.5%(收入達到$14,000)到33%(收入超過$70,000)不等。

紐西蘭沒有通用的資本利得稅,但是有些投資需要在歸屬和未實現原則下按照視同回報繳稅。如果您持有國外投資或債務,包括股份、養老金權益、外幣存款或貸款等,請徵求專家意見。

商品及服務稅(GST)和消費稅

在紐西蘭,15%的商品及服務稅適用於絕大多數產品和服務。

消費稅適用於許多產品,包括菸草和酒精。國家課徵消費稅是爲了限制某些商品的消費。

商品及服務稅和消費稅向最終消費者徵收,通常包含在最終售價中。

印花稅和遺產稅

紐西蘭沒有交易印花稅,也沒有遺產稅或死亡稅。

如果您打算在紐西蘭無限期居住,請考慮是否更換住所以及是否能夠免繳遺產稅和死亡稅。

瞭解更多

本網頁精心提供的資訊僅作一般資訊使用,不構成法律意見。關於您的具體情況適用紐西蘭法律的哪些規定,請聯繫我們。

聯繫我們

Jones Law

紐西蘭
About Jones Law

我們可以提供為您量身定做的法律解決方案,有效地保護您的財富、規劃您的投資和家庭事務,力爭實現最佳資產保護、資產控制和稅務管理。

無論您是打算投資新的項目,是考慮移民和/或將財富轉移到紐西蘭,還是需要對您的個人事務或商業事務進行法律健康檢查,請儘管將需求告訴我們。

瞭解更多
+64 9 486 0950400 Lake Road, Takapuna, Auckland
PO Box 33 196, Takapuna, 0740,
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND

info@jones-law.co.nz

Tax & Legal Considerations

Yachts travelling to New Zealand

New Zealand Entry Requirements

All yachts and small craft arriving in New Zealand must comply with border entry requirements imposed by the New Zealand Customs Service and the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry.

You should immediately familiarise yourself with the entry requirements and restrictions on bringing certain foodstuffs, artefacts and pets into New Zealand.

Consider your immigration status in New Zealand. Does a visa waiver apply, do you hold a visitor’s visa or have you taken steps towards obtaining a residency visa in New Zealand?

Duty Free Concessions

Certain concessions are available to exempt your vessel and other imports from customs duty and goods and services tax if you are intending to reside in New Zealand permanently, although there are size restrictions relating to boats. In order to qualify for concessionary entry, several conditions must be met, including that you have personally arrived in New Zealand, that you are authorised to reside in New Zealand permanently and that you have personally owned and used the boat for at least one year before the date of your departure for New Zealand.

Worldwide Basis of Taxation

New Zealand taxes its residents on their worldwide income and taxes non-residents on their income derived from New Zealand sources. Tax residence is triggered if you have a permanent place of abode in New Zealand or if you spend more than 183 days in the country in any 12 month period.

Be sure to understand when New Zealand’s tax laws are going to apply to you.

Non-Resident Crew Members

Certain concessions apply to amounts derived by visiting non-resident crew members of pleasure craft, to enable them to continue to earn their income from performing services tax-free, while a foreign owned pleasure craft is in New Zealand. For the purposes of this concession, the 183 day test does not apply but the crew member must not be resident in New Zealand for more than 365 days in any 2 year period.

If you are a non-resident crew member on a private yacht, ensure that you understand the potential tax impact of any long stays in New Zealand.

Double Tax Treaty Network

New Zealand enjoys a comprehensive network of double tax treaties with other countries. It is common for people moving between countries to be treated as tax resident in two or more places. A double tax treaty may operate to ensure that you are not taxed twice on your income.

Extra caution is required for yachties who have deliberately ceased to be tax resident anywhere in the world. There will be no double tax treaty protection in these cases. Ensure that you understand the impact of New Zealand’s tax laws on your worldwide income and investments.

Four-year New Migrant Tax Exemption

New migrants to New Zealand and New Zealanders returning after an absence of 10 years or more may be able to benefit from the transitional resident tax exemption, which applies to foreign sourced income derived by new migrants for a period of up to four years after you first become resident in New Zealand.

To maximise the effect of the transitional resident exemption, care should be taken to ensure that the start date of your residence in New Zealand is not unintentionally triggered earlier than expected. Special considerations apply if you choose to live on board a vessel rather than a land based dwelling. Sailing in and out of the country during the year may complicate matters.

New Zealand’s Tax Landscape

Income Tax and Capital Gains Tax

New Zealand tax residents are generally subject to income tax on their worldwide income. Income is taxed on a progressive scale with rates ranging from 10.5 percent on the first $14,000 to 33 percent on income over $70,000.

New Zealand does not have a generally applicable capital gains tax. However, certain investments are taxed on an attributed and unrealised basis, assuming a deemed return. Specialist advice should be sought if you are holding foreign investments or debt, including shares, pension scheme entitlements or foreign currency deposits or loans.

GST and Excise Taxes

Goods and Services Tax (GST) of 15 percent applies to most products and services in New Zealand.

Excise taxes apply to a range of products, such as tobacco and alcohol. These taxes are intended to limit consumption of certain goods.

GST and Excise Taxes are a charge on the ultimate consumer and are often included in the advertised price.

Stamp Duty and Estate Taxes

New Zealand does not impose stamp duty on transactions and does not have estate or death taxes.

If you’re coming to New Zealand indefinitely, consider whether you will be changing your place of domicile and whether or not you can limit the imposition of estate and death duties.

Find out more

The content contained on this website is prepared at a high level for general information purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Please contact us to discuss how New Zealand’s laws will apply to your specific situation.

Contact Us

Jones Law

New Zealand
About Jones Law

We provide tailored legal solutions to ensure that your wealth is protected and your investments and family affairs structured to provide optimum asset protection, control and tax efficiency.

Whether you are about to embark on a new investment project, are considering moving yourself and/or your wealth to New Zealand, or if you would like a legal health check of your personal or business affairs, we invite you to contact us to discuss your needs.

Learn More
+64 9 486 0950 400 Lake Road, Takapuna, Auckland
PO Box 33 196, Takapuna, 0740,
AUCKLAND NEW ZEALAND

info@jones-law.co.nz