稅務&移民考量

遷入紐西蘭

移民策略

一般來說,很多策略都可以幫助您在紐西蘭獲得永久居住權。

投資者取得永久居住權的通道包括「積極投資移民」到長期商務簽證不等。

非常重要的一點是,您需要評估每種策略的相對成本(不光是貨幣形式的成本,還包括風險成本)、申請人在紐西蘭的停留時間要求以及英語水準要求。

選定一種移民策略之前,建議您全面分析所有可選策略。

紐西蘭稅項一覽

紐西蘭的主要稅種是所得稅和商品及服務稅(GST),前者適用於紐西蘭納稅居民在全球範圍內的收入,後者是轉移到消費者身上的銷售稅,幾乎適用於所有商品和服務,只有極少數商品和服務例外。

紐西蘭沒有死亡稅或遺產稅,沒有印花稅或產權轉讓稅,也沒有通用的資本利得稅。

新移民免稅期

遷入紐西蘭的新移民以及在國外居住10年或更長時間後重返祖國的紐西蘭人可以享受一段免繳居民稅過渡期,也就是說,在您成為紐西蘭居民後的頭四年,您作為新移民無須為外國來源收入繳稅。

爲了充分利用居民稅免稅過渡期,請注意確保您成為紐西蘭居民的起始日期不會無意中變得比預期更早。如果您在紐西蘭擁有一處永久住所或者在連續12個月裡在紐西蘭的居住總時間達到183天,您就會成為紐西蘭納稅居民。

移民前預先制定好計劃,有助於您綜合享受以信託結構形式持有資產的優惠和居民稅免稅過渡期的優惠。爲了實現以上雙重目標,建議您移民前預先向我們瞭解相關信息。

紐西蘭信託

紐西蘭任意家庭信託是一項非常有用的遺產規劃工具。信託包括一個人(委託人)將財產處置給另一個人或一群人(受託人)以及受託人受託爲了其他人(受益人)的利益而持有該財產。如欲建立信託,雙方必須具有建立信託的明確意向並明確規定何人為受益人,此外,信託財產必須能夠明確辨識。載明信託條款、規定受託人應如何管理信託財產的信託契約一旦生效,即表示雙方已經建立信託。

在紐西蘭,使用信託有三個主要原因:資產保護、遺產規劃和納稅優惠。通過轉讓資產的合法所有權,信託委託人可將資產置於其未來債權人的控制範圍之外。信託委託人有權控制如何向受益人分配資產,因此,信託是一項實用的遺產規劃工具。紐西蘭關係財產法的寬容之處在於允許非婚伴侶在相對較短的一段時間之後分走一半的家庭資產。請務必瞭解清楚關係財產法的適用範圍,以便保護您的個人財富和家庭財富免遭意外威脅。

信託可以為您帶來各種納稅優惠。通過對有收益資產建立信託,委託人可將其收入有效地轉移到適用更低邊際稅率的其他人名下,但是將收入分配給16歲以下的受益人還需要遵守一些特殊規定。

紐西蘭外國信託

紐西蘭實施的外國信託機制被證實對許多非居民有利。如果一項信託的委託人不是紐西蘭居民,而受託人是紐西蘭居民,則受託人的外國來源收入無須向紐西蘭繳稅。外國信託在定義上的特殊性在於它允許受託人為紐西蘭居民,而相對於其他管轄區來說,紐西蘭具有一定的稅收優勢。這個特性通常可以當作一項納稅規劃工具來用,尤其可以在委託人居住在只對居民受託人信託受益課稅的管轄區情況下使用。

資本利得稅誤區

紐西蘭沒有通用的資本利得稅,但稅法中有許多條款將資本利得重新描述為收入並對其課稅。

如果您只是簡單地將錢存入銀行,那麼在超過有關閥值的情況下匯率變動收益需要按照未實現原則繳稅。

一般來說,土地交易收益仍然不會納入稅收網絡,除非您出現以下特殊情況之一:土地開發或改良活動、土地資源規則變化收益、作為商業活動的一部份或出於處置目的而取得土地、或者只是與建築業的某個人之間有關聯。

非紐西蘭股份、養老金投資和保險單都需要遵守外國投資基金規則,很可能需要按照假定增值繳稅,即便您可能並未切實收到投資收益。

雙重課稅協定

兩個國家之間的移民常常被視為兩個或兩個以上國家的納稅居民,雙重課稅協定的實施就是爲了確保您的收入無需重複繳稅。

紐西蘭與俄羅斯之間的雙重課稅協定規定了兩個國家之間的哪個國家對您在全球範圍內的收入具有主要課稅權以及您可以享受哪些稅收抵免來減少您向兩個國家重複繳稅的可能性。

一般企業結構

您可以通過許多媒介向紐西蘭投資,包括有限責任公司、單位信託公司、合資企業、合夥企業、有限責任合夥企業和最近推出的LTC公司。對於管理基金投資,組合投資實體可以提供大量稅收節約。無論您是打算投資現有企業還是設立自己的企業,我們都可以提供幫助,與您共同確定適合您的企業結構。

聯繫我們

Jones Law

紐西蘭
About Jones Law

我們可以提供為您量身定做的法律解決方案,有效地保護您的財富、規劃您的投資和家庭事務,力爭實現最佳資產保護、資產控制和稅務管理。

無論您是打算投資新的項目,是考慮移民和/或將財富轉移到紐西蘭,還是需要對您的個人事務或商業事務進行法律健康檢查,請儘管將需求告訴我們。

瞭解更多
+64 9 486 0950400 Lake Road, Takapuna, Auckland
PO Box 33 196, Takapuna, 0740,
AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND

info@jones-law.co.nz

Tax & Immigration Considerations

When Moving to New Zealand

Immigration Strategies

There are usually numerous available strategies to achieve permanent residence in New Zealand.

For investors, these range from the “Active Investor Category” through to the Long Term Business Visa route to permanent residence.

It is critically important to assess the relative cost of each strategy, measured not only in monetary terms but also in terms of risk, physical presence required in New Zealand and English language requirements.

A thorough analysis of all the available options is essential prior to implementing a migration strategy.

New Zealand Tax Landscape

The main taxes in New Zealand are the income tax, which applies to worldwide income of New Zealand tax residents, and goods and services tax (GST), which is a sales tax passed on to consumers and is generally applied to all goods and services with few exceptions.

New Zealand has no death duty or estate taxes, no stamp duty or transfer duty on property transfers and no generally applicable capital gains tax.

New Migrant Tax Exemption

New migrants to New Zealand and New Zealanders returning after an absence of 10 years or more may be able to benefit from the transitional resident tax exemption, which applies to foreign sourced income derived by new migrants for a period of up to four years after you first become resident in New Zealand.

To maximise the effect of the transitional resident exemption, care should be taken to ensure that the start date of your residence in New Zealand is not unintentionally triggered earlier than expected. A person becomes tax resident in New Zealand if they have a permanent place of abode in New Zealand or if they are personally present for an aggregate of 183 days in any 12 month period.

With pre-migration planning, it may be possible to combine the benefits of using a trust structure to hold your assets with the transitional resident exemption. In order to achieve this dual objective, we recommend contacting us prior to your move to New Zealand.

New Zealand Trusts

A New Zealand discretionary family trust can be a useful estate planning tool. A trust involves a disposition of property by a person, called the settlor, to a person or persons, the trustees, who are instructed to hold that property for the benefit of others, the beneficiaries. There must be an express intention to establish the trust, it must be clear who the beneficiaries are and the trust property should be clearly identifiable. A trust will normally be set up by the execution of a trust deed, which records the terms of the trust and directs the trustees as to how they should administer the trust property.

There are three main reasons for the use of trusts in New Zealand: asset protection, estate planning and taxation benefits. By ceding legal title to the assets, a settlor of a trust may put his assets beyond the reach of his or her future creditors. A trust gives the settlor power to control distributions to the beneficiaries and is therefore useful as an estate planning tool. The generous features of New Zealand’s relationship property laws may operate to allow even an unmarried partner to walk away with half of the family assets after a relatively short period of time. It is important that you understand the scope of these laws and protect your and your family’s wealth from unexpected threats.

Various tax benefits are available through the use of a trust. By placing income producing assets in a trust, the settlor can effectively transfer income from him or herself to persons that may be taxed at a lower marginal tax rate, although special rules apply to distributions to beneficiaries under the age of 16.

New Zealand Foreign Trusts

New Zealand operates a foreign trust regime which can prove beneficial for many non-residents. Foreign sourced income derived by a New Zealand resident trustee of a trust which does not have a New Zealand resident settlor will not be taxable in New Zealand. The unusual nature of the foreign trust definition, in particular, is that it allows for the trustees of the trust to be resident in New Zealand, which gives rise to certain advantages relative to other jurisdictions. This feature can often provide a useful tool in taxation planning, especially where the settlor is resident in a jurisdiction that only taxes trust income derived by resident trustees.

Capital Gains Pitfalls

New Zealand does not have a generally applicable capital gains tax, but the tax laws contain many provisions which recharacterise capital gains as income and tax them accordingly.

Simply having money in the bank can expose you to tax on foreign exchange movements on an unrealised basis, if you exceed the relevant thresholds.

Gains from land transactions will generally remain outside the tax net, unless one of the myriad of exceptions apply to your situation, such as development or improvement activities, gains from a change in the resource rules applying to the land, acquiring the land as part of a business or for the purpose of disposal, or simply being associated to someone in the building business.

Non-New Zealand shares, pension investments and insurance policies all fall under the foreign investment fund rules and could potentially be subject to tax based on an assumed increase in value, notwithstanding that you may not have actually received any income from your investment.

Double Tax Agreement

It is common for people moving between countries to be treated as tax resident in two or more places. A double tax treaty may operate to ensure that you are not taxed twice on your income.

Common Business Structures

Investment into New Zealand can be done through a variety of vehicles, such as a limited liability company, unit trust, joint venture, partnership, limited partnership or the recently introduced look-through company. For managed fund investments, portfolio investment entities can offer significant tax savings. Whether you intend to invest into an established business or start up your own, we are able to work with you to help determine which structure is right for you.

Contact Us

Jones Law

New Zealand
About Jones Law

We provide tailored legal solutions to ensure that your wealth is protected and your investments and family affairs structured to provide optimum asset protection, control and tax efficiency.

Whether you are about to embark on a new investment project, are considering moving yourself and/or your wealth to New Zealand, or if you would like a legal health check of your personal or business affairs, we invite you to contact us to discuss your needs.

Learn More
+64 9 486 0950 400 Lake Road, Takapuna, Auckland
PO Box 33 196, Takapuna, 0740,
AUCKLAND NEW ZEALAND

info@jones-law.co.nz